Jithin T JosephCTDS

CTDS reference library · Reviewed 17 October 2026

Knowledge base.Evidence behind the workflow.

Explore clinical guidance, targeting methods, coil-specific evidence and safety references in one place.

Reference scope. The clinical decision pathway currently covers adult outpatient MDD. OCD and smoking-cessation material below is educational reference content, not an expansion of automated recommendations. Use current device-specific instructions and local clinical procedures.

Trace every instruction

Guidelines inform clinical decisions; primary trials document tested methods; device instructions define model-specific operation. Each source is labelled by type.

Keep targets and references distinct

Record the measured motor hotspot and the coil used for MT. Scalp landmarks, helmet reference marks and intended brain regions are different pieces of information.

Keep limitations visible

H7 depression placement and exact deep-coil fitting/orientation remain pending applicable device documentation. Source dates are not a guarantee of current regulatory status.

Browse the evidence

Sources & method notes

24 of 24 sources

Clinical decision resources 5 sources

Guideline / consensus

Trapp et al. · 2025 comprehensive consensus update, endorsed by NNDC, Clinical TMS Society, and IFCN

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Guideline / consensus

Perera et al. · 2016 Clinical TMS Society consensus review and treatment recommendations for MDD

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Guideline / consensus

CANMAT · 2023 update to adult MDD clinical guidelines

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Guideline / consensus

Lefaucheur et al. · 2020 IFCN evidence-based rTMS guideline update (2014–2018 evidence)

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Guideline / consensus

Indian Psychiatric Society · 2023 rTMS clinical practice guidelines

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗

Localization 7 sources

Guideline / consensus

Seeck et al. · 2017 IFCN recommendations for a standard EEG electrode array

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Methods / research

Jurcak et al. · 2007 10–20/10–10 proportional systems and anatomical landmarks

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Methods / research

Beam et al. · 2009 original Beam F3 method

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Methods / research

Mir-Moghtadaei et al. · 2015 adjusted Beam F3 method

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Methods / research

Fabregat-Sanjuan et al. · 2022 evaluation of Beam F3 localization

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Methods / research

2026 geometric validation of Beam F3 methods using realistic head models

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Guideline / consensus

Groppa et al. · 2012 IFCN practical guide to diagnostic TMS

Motor hotspot localization and hand/leg assessment; §3.3.1 informs the resting EMG relative-frequency tracker in tab 3. Diagnostic guidance must be reconciled with the applicable therapeutic device protocol.

Read original source ↗

Coil placement 10 sources

Primary trial

H1 depression · Levkovitz et al. (2015)

H1 position: 6 cm anterior to the motor hotspot using the cap ruler. Trial: 18 Hz, 120% resting MT, 55 × 2-second trains, 20-second intertrain interval, 1,980 pulses.

Read original source ↗
Primary trial

H7 OCD · Carmi et al. (2019)

H7 position: 4 cm anterior to the foot motor reference. Trial: 20 Hz, 100% leg resting MT, 50 × 2-second trains, 20-second intertrain interval, 2,000 pulses; individualised symptom provocation.

Read original source ↗
Primary trial

H4 smoking cessation · Zangen et al. (2021)

Identify the helmet position activating the right abductor pollicis brevis; align the helmet symmetrically and move 6 cm anteriorly. Trial: 10 Hz, 120% MT, 1,800 pulses; smoking-cue provocation.

Read original source ↗
Device-profile review

H7 coil · Harmelech, Roth & Tendler (2021)

Background on H7 geometry and applications. This 2021 review is not a current operator manual or a complete record of current indications.

Read original source ↗
Regulatory document

Cool D-B80 OCD · FDA K193006 (2020)

US clearance for adjunctive adult OCD treatment. Cool D-B80 for both leg MT and treatment; bilateral dmPFC, 20 Hz, 100% leg MT, 2,000 pulses. Substantial equivalence to H7, without a new D-B80 pivotal OCD trial. Handle orientation is not specified.

Read original source ↗
Primary modelling study

D-B80 and H7 field comparison · Tzirini et al. (2022)

Describes a prefrontal treatment position 4 cm anterior to leg motor cortex. Field distributions differ between coils; regulatory equivalence does not make their physical positioning interchangeable.

Read original source ↗
Manufacturer update

MagVenture · expanded coil indications (2025)

September 2025 US update includes Cool D-B80, Cool-B70 and Cool-B65 for MDD and OCD. Indication compatibility alone does not specify placement; check applicable regional labelling and IFU.

Read original source ↗
Review

TMS coil orientation review (2025)

Background reference already linked in tab 4; orientation must match the target, coil and protocol.

Read original source ↗
Research

Neuronavigation positioning accuracy

Reference already linked in tab 4. Navigation guidance concerns both position and orientation, with appropriate registration and calibration.

Read original source ↗
CTDS reference PDF

CTDS Cool D-B80 OCD placement summary

Educational synthesis of the regulatory and published placement sources. Includes the leg motor reference and 4 cm anterior localization. Exact handle orientation requires manufacturer IFU verification; this is not an operator manual.

Open reference PDF ↗

Safety 2 sources

Guideline / consensus

Rossi et al. · 2021 expert safety recommendations for TMS use

Source already cited in the CTDS workflow. Consult the full publication and its scope.

Read original source ↗
Supplied clinical form

Clinic-provided TMS adverse-effects questionnaire (AEQ)

Basis for the symptom categories in tab 4. The adapted web form is not a validated questionnaire and does not determine causality or permission to continue treatment.

Supplied form · no public source link

About this knowledge base

Curated for the Clinical TMS Decision Support and Placement Tool by Dr Jithin T Joseph. This page brings together the sources cited across tabs 1–5 and the coil-placement documents reviewed for CTDS. It is a selected reference collection, not a systematic review or validated decision rule.

The post-session form is adapted from the supplied TMS AEQ. Source inclusion does not imply endorsement by manufacturers, authors or professional organisations. Consult original documents for eligibility, exclusions, safety requirements and full protocol details.

Last content review: 17 October 2026. Updates require clinical review; the library does not automatically monitor changes.